Down the throat

Posted: September 25, 2010 in Education, Religion
Tags: , ,

(Wrote this post on the 24th, but I’m queueing it to publish on the 25th because my last one needed to stay up the top for a while.)

The other day I was asked to do a reading from the Bible. I’m an atheist. It was rather dropped on me – I thought I’d have another few days but the person ahead of me wasn’t there so it fell to me. Literally, it was ‘JKBC will do our reading today, here’s the book, get on with it.’ Not in those words, but that was basically it.

Why are we forcing Christianity on people in secular institutions? I wouldn’t care if there were readings from the Koran, the Vedas, the Torah, or in fact any holy book. In fact, I think that could be a valuable message of tolerance and acceptance. But to pick the readings from only one book, one faith, is shoving that faith down people’s throats.

Leave a Reply

