The Final Frontier

Posted: September 26, 2010 in Music, Pop Culture
Tags: , ,

Time for something a little more light-hearted. I do a lot of ranting.

A month or so after it came out (and three weeks or so after I bought it) I finally got around to listening to The Final Frontier, Iron Maiden’s latest. Now, to put this in perspective, I’ve disliked basically everything they’ve done for the last decade, wasn’t too fussed on the decade before – I adore their 80s stuff though. They used to be on my top ten bands thing, and if they’d broken up in about 1990 they probably still would be. There’s some things I like since then, but few.

I found it a bit like the Curate’s Egg; parts of it were excellent. There were moments when I was leaping around frantically playing air bass and screaming FUCK YEAH! IRON MAIDEN ARE BACK! and then there were moments when I flopped back into my chair and said, blurg, quit it already with these indistinguishable wimpy intros and boring old gallop.

To put things more concisely, if you want the spirit of 80s Maiden, get the White Wizzard album. They have a severe case of Maidenwannabeitis, and they make it work.

Leave a Reply

