The tyranny of little groups of pixels

Posted: September 28, 2010 in America, Bodies, Education, Gender
Tags: , ,

I don’t understand.

I don’t understand that justification. I don’t understand the suppression of the vote outcome. I don’t understand what the school administrators’ problem was. (I also don’t understand the appeal of this Homecoming Court thing, but that doesn’t stop me realising that others might attach more importance to it.)

One, it’s fucking blatant transphobia. You can’t have the title because this little group of pixels (I’d’ve thought they’d’ve had computer records, and the pixels thing sounds better) say you’re a girl. That little group of pixels cannot override the knowledge of the living, breathing person they are supposed to represent. Two, it’s a complete mockery of democracy. They voted for him, he gets the title. How hard can it be?

I know it’s not a matter of life and death. In the big scheme of things, it’s not much. But the vote was a good sign, a ray of hope – and the administrators’ response was stupid and bigoted.

Leave a Reply

