The infinite spectrum

Posted: October 28, 2010 in Bodies, Health, Music, Science
Tags: , ,

Been interested in the initial results of the 1000 Genomes Project that have recently been published. Apparently we all have 250-300 variations that can mean a loss of function, including 75 that have already been implicated in inherited diseases. The results show that there is no such thing as a ‘perfect’ genome and therefore, by definition, ‘imperfect’ ones. (I got about half my information from today’s Times, so some of what I say may not be included on the link.)

If there is no such thing as an ‘imperfect’ genome, then where does that leave the idea of normalcy? Right in the gutter, that’s where. And then where does that leave the idea of abnormality? In the very same place. We are all just another manifestation of the infinite spectrum of human diversity.

*    *    *

In unrelated news, JKBC has a new bass amp ( a gift… I love my family), which ze won’t get for another week and a bit. Line 6 and it sounds great! Loads and loads of effects and miscellaneous coolness, so perhaps my internet use will go down… or maybe not. Haven’t been playing much recently because of the terrible amp I have now – I knew I shouldn’t have let anyone run a noise synth through it…

Leave a Reply

