Breast cancer and race.

Posted: November 17, 2010 in Bodies, Health
Tags: ,

This is massive cause for concern (I am white; I will try not to let my privilege get the better of me; I apologise if I do, and you are fully justified in holding me accountable). The outcomes for black women diagnosed with breast cancer in the UK is worse than those for their white counterparts. They tend to develop breast cancer on average 10-20 years younger than white women, and the cancer is often a more aggressive form called triple negative breast, which is apparently little understood or researched. Why is that, I wonder? Why is it that a form of cancer prevalent in black women is little understood and researched? Could there be an institutional bias? The article comments on the white face of breast cancer, which is damaging enough. It doesn’t, however, comment on that fact.

Leave a Reply

