Most of us who are reading this would agree that this world is deeply, deeply wrong. The entrenched, institutionalised inequality, the social conditioning that leads people to internalise their undeserved statuses, the deep prejudices that hamstring us… it all adds up to a portrait of a world with a big problem. Developed nations push off their mistakes to developing nations, exploiting and enslaving their people when they are forced to reduce their exploitation and enslavement of their own people. Meanwhile, everyone is fed lies to uphold the status quo, to avoid bringing it down, down.

And all of us are capable of breaking through the lies to see the wrongness – many have, many others cannot due to lack of resources, systematic subjugation and oppression. Many of those who have discovered the damage have some thought to changing it, even on such a small scale as within themselves or their very closest circle of acquaintance. Fighting the kyriarchy needn’t be grand gestures; every mind won from it is a victory.

But still, I and probably many others are still not free of the way of this world, this culture. I can fight it, I can stand against it, I can even help other minds come around; but I can’t quite imagine a world without kyriarchy. Along some lines of oppression, I can, but I can’t imagine a time when the kyriarchy doesn’t exist.

This, to me, is a serious imagination failure; I should be able to think beyond this kyriarchal culture. If I can create worlds in which two different species of sentient creatures coexist, if I can create worlds where magic is endemic, if I can create worlds with complex customs – why can I not imagine this one without the massive distortion lens of kyriarchy?

Since I doubt it will be ended in my lifetime, this failure probably doesn’t matter too much as long as I can stand against kyriarchy without it; but I wonder, how many people are able to imagine a world without kyriarchy? Not an idealised utopia, but a real, human world freed from the chains of kyriarchy?

I’ll keep fighting against it, all the while trying to break through the cultural barrier and be able to visualise this world without kyriarchy. Maybe one day I will get some kind of idea of the future without kyriarchy, and maybe one day I will be able to see real, concrete steps towards it. Maybe I won’t. Maybe it will never come to pass. But pessimism isn’t really an option; a realism, tempered with idealism, is probably one of the few ways of getting anything done. That’s why I would love to be able to imagine, to visualise, to write this world without kyriarchy; as a light in the black.

Leave a Reply

